A Christian Journey

He Had Compassion

“And when the Lord saw her, He had compassion on her and said to her, Do not weep.” Luke 7:13 Amplified

In our verse today Jesus is going into the gate of a town called Nain, his disciples and a great throng are following Him. Just as he gets inside the gate a funeral possession passes, a man has died, the only son of a widow. Our verse today simply says Jesus had compassion on her.

I want to be like Jesus, to have compassion. It’s confession time for me, I’m not a very soft-hearted person. Growing up I can remember having a love and compassion for animals, but people, not so much. I’m not sure why I was that way, it’s just the way I was. Over the years my compassion for people has grown, but I’m still not the softest heart around and I don’t cry easily at all. Sometimes I want to cry, but the tears don’t come. I wish I could tell people I’m crying on the inside, but that doesn’t sound quite right.

My prayer, and I hope it’s yours too, is to have a heart like Jesus and to see people the way He does.

Leave a Reply

