A Christian Journey

“And the wolf shall dwell with the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the kid, and the calf and the young lion and the fatted domestic animal together; and a little child shall lead them. And the cow and the bear shall feed side by side, their young shall lie down together, and the lion shall eat straw like the ox.”  Isaiah 11:6-7  Amplified

I am making a personal diversion from my normal blogging on scripture to discuss animals in heaven. With the loss of my pet cat of 16 years, and comments made by some, I decided to review the scriptures with regard to animals in heaven.

Let me first say that I know animals don’t have a soul and can neither be lost or saved, that’s not the point of my discussion today. I suppose you could say that if animals are in heaven for eternity then they have eternal life like us and thus have a soul. However, in order to have a soul a being must have free will to decide right from wrong, animals don’t have that. In Genesis it states God breathed into Adam’s nostrils the spirit of life, his soul. Today I’m merely looking at whether animals will exist in heaven, much like angels.

The verse quoted at the top is from Isaiah, in his prophecy of heaven he lists the animals that will be there and how they are coexisting peacefully. Some might say that the prophecy is just representative of the peace in heaven and not literal. As for myself I take the Bible literally, all of it. I would add the fact that when God created the Garden of Eden no blood had been shed, therefore the animals coexisted peacefully.

There is another verse that doesn’t necessarily talk about animals in heaven, but just talks about animals in general and it is Numbers 22:28.  This is the story of Balaam taking a journey on his donkey, but the Lord wanted to stop him. The Lord put an Angel in his path, but only the donkey saw it and she refused to move. Balaam got mad with her and started whipping her. The verse says, “And the Lord opened the mouth of the donkey, and she said to Balaam, What have I done to you that you should strike me these three times?”  Now who has ever heard a donkey or any other animal speak? No one that I know of except in cartoons. I thought of this story, though, only to point out that God will do whatever He wants to, even making an animal speak, so why can’t there be animals in heaven?

Finally, my favorite verse is Revelation 19:11, “After that I saw heaven opened, and behold, a white horse appeared! The One Who was riding it is called Faithful, Trustworthy, Loyal, Incorruptible, Steady and True, and He passes judgment and wages war in righteousness.”

The King of Kings, and Lord of Lords will return to earth on a white horse and not only that, but His army will be riding white horses too! I look forward to riding my white horse again that day and I hope you are by my side.

Leave a Reply

