A Christian Journey

Persistent Faith

“Yet because this widow continues to bother me, I will defend, protect, and avenge her, lest she give me intolerable annoyance and wear me out by her continual coming, or at the last she come and rail on me, assault me, or strangle me.”  Luke 18:5  Amplified

Our woman of the Bible for today is the persistent widow. This is actually a parable that Jesus used to teach about being persistent in prayer.

This widow went to a judge who neither reverenced and feared God or respected and considered man. Wow, what a guy! This didn’t seem to matter to the widow, for she kept going to him seeking his help to protect, defend and give justice to her against her adversary. For a while he didn’t budge, but then as stated in our verse today, because she was so persistent he finally figured he better help her if HE wanted peace. Jesus tells us that God will do much more for us if we will only be persistent in bringing our requests to Him.

This is one of my favorite parables I suppose because I have a tenacious personality and God says good! It’s not about the nagging, it’s about the faith in believing that God can handle ALL our needs.

Finally, at the end of the parable, in verse 8 Jesus asks a question, “However, when the Son of Man comes will He find persistence in faith on the earth?” Let us have faith and be persistent.

Leave a Reply

