A Christian Journey

Blessing Each Other

“Blessed be the Lord your God, Who delighted in you and set you on the throne of Israel! Because the Lord loved Israel forever, He made you king to execute justice and righteousness.”  1 Kings 10:9 Amplified

Our woman of the Bible for today is the Queen of Sheba.  It is said in 1 Kings chapter 10 that she heard of the constant connection between King Solomon and the name of the Lord, so she went to see Solomon. It also says she asked him many hard questions, problems and riddles, which he answered. Oh that our husbands should have the wisdom of Solomon, huh ladies? We surely ask them a lot of questions, bring problems and sometimes we are a riddle to them!

In departing from her visit with Solomon she told him, “It was a true report I heard in my own land of your acts, sayings and wisdom. I did not believe it until I came and my eyes had seen. Behold, the half was not told to me. You have added wisdom and goodness exceeding the fame I heard.”  1 Kings 10:6&7.  She then left gold, goods and spices for the king to honor him.  He returned the favor to her and loaded her down with much before she left to return home.

We all want a husband wise as Solomon, but are we the Proverbs 31 woman? Though I fall way short of being the perfect woman, this story moves me to pray for my husband that God would give him the wisdom of Solomon. I need to also appreciate him for what he does already and shower him with gifts of praise. If he is truly wise he will do the same for me in return.

Leave a Reply

