A Christian Journey

What’s Your Temperature

“So, because you are lukewarm and neither cold nor hot, I will spew you out of My mouth!”   Revelations 3:16  Amplified

Here we are at the last book of the Bible, Revelations, and what a book it is.  Many try to understand it, some try to explain it, few read it.  To me, the most important chapters for us right now are the first three.  Some believe the seven churches are literal churches that existed at the time John wrote this and historically that’s correct.  Some say the seven churches are the progression of the church over time in history.  If that’s true then today’s verse describes us, the church today.

The last church listed in Revelation is Laodicea and in verse 17 it is described as “I am rich, I have prospered and grown wealthy, and I am in need of nothing.”  Sound familiar?   The Lord goes on to say, “You don’t realize and understand that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked.”   Outwardly you may be and appear rich, but inwardly/spiritually, you aren’t.  He says, “I counsel you to purchase from Me gold refined and tested by fire, that you may be truly wealthy.”

Remember that the church is actually the body of believers, those who have a relationship with the Lord.  So this is addressed to each of us individually.  Some believe the seven churches describe the progression a believer goes through.

Verse 19 goes on to say, “Those whom I truly love I tell their faults, convince, convict, reprove, and chasten. So be enthusiastic and in earnest, burning with zeal and repent, change your mind and attitude.”  Don’t be lukewarm, be hot and on fire for the Lord.

Finally verse 20 states, “Behold, I stand at the door and knock, if anyone hears, listens to, and heeds My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and will eat with him and he will eat with Me.”

Do you hear someone tapping at your hearts door?  Listen.

Leave a Reply

