A Christian Journey

Follow Jesus

“And when Jesus was baptized, He went up at once out of the water; and behold, the heavens were opened, and John saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting on Him.”  Matthew 3:16    Amplified

What a great way to start our study of the 3:16 verses of the Bible in the new testament, Jesus’ baptism.  Do you remember when you were baptized?  In todays verse John states he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove on Jesus.  I believe when you and I were baptized the same thing happened, only it wasn’t visible.  

Baptism is symbolic of dying to self and giving your life over to God.  In our flesh we aren’t able to do that, but the Holy Spirit enables us to do it.   Jesus is our example and this verse encourages me to study His life and how He handled situations to guide me in how I am to handle mine.  For example, in chapter four of Matthew, Jesus is led up to the mountain and is there for 40 days being tempted by the devil.  Isn’t that interesting, immediately after the Holy Spirit descends on Him he is led into temptation.  So how did he handle the temptation?  He spoke the Word, OUTLOUD, to the devil, the tempter can’t handle that and he had to leave Jesus alone.

So many times we see people who get saved falling away because they were tempted, they let the temptation get the better of them.    If they are truly saved, and only God really knows, I don’t believe they lose their salvation, but all they have is fire insurance.  I want more out of my walk with God, I know He loves me and will help me in trials and temptation.  To me it’s like a burglar trying to break in your house and you open the front door instead of getting the gun.   We are in spiritual warfare and God has the big guns.  To be at peace in this life we must follow Jesus and His example.  I think that might make a good study when we finish the 3:16 verses.  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

