A Christian Journey

Nothing Shall Offend

“Great peace have they who love your law; nothing shall offend them or make them stumble.”   Psalm 119:165   Amplified

As a believer, that’s what I want to hear, “Great peace have they who love your law”!   Wow, I have great peace, that’s comforting.  But wait, the verse goes on to say “nothing shall offend them or make them stumble”.  Uh oh, do I get offended or stumble?  Well let’s do some self examination (we hate that stuff don’t we).  Self examination is actually very beneficial and as you can see, in this case the reward is great peace!

Why would great peace cause me to NOT get offended?  Peace is a state of mind that isn’t disturbed.  If I am offended that means I AM disturbed, so I’ve let someone steal my peace.  When we lose our peace and get disturbed and offended we can stumble and do or say something we may regret.

Okay, so now I see the sequence of events, but again how can great peace help me to not get offended?   Our peace comes from trusting God.  I guess you could compare peace with a lock on your front door, since we’re talking about someone stealing your peace.  A small lock, like a small amount of trusting in God, is secure most of the time, but it might be broken into easily as well.  However if you put a GREAT lock on your front door, it’s going to be a lot harder for someone to tamper with, virtually impossible!

Our faith and trust in God and His word must be great, we must turn over our whole life to Him, then our peace will be great and nothing will offend or make us stumble.

Leave a Reply

