A Christian Journey

Calm And Quiet My Soul

“Lord, my heart is not haughty, nor my eyes lofty, neither do I exercise myself in matters too great or in things too wonderful for me.  Surely I have calmed and quieted my soul, like a weaned child with her mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me, ceased from fretting.  (O Israel) hope in the Lord from this time forth and forever.”      Psalm 131:1-3

Sometimes when we read scripture it comes across very thick and hard to understand.  One of the keys to understanding it is to slow down, break it down and think/pray on it.   There are also two things you need when studying God’s word – a dictionary and a concordance.   If you went digging for gold you wouldn’t just use your hands you would likely take a pick ax and a shovel, maybe even a pan to sift through the dirt.  When we study the bible we are actually digging for the golden nuggets of God’s wisdom and guidance.

Even in the Amplified version of our verse there are words we don’t really use much today, like haughty.   Haughty means having or showing the insulting attitude of people who think that they are better, smarter, or more important than other people, in other words pride.  We must humble ourselves before God.

Next the verse says “neither do I exercise myself in matters too great”.   I have heard it said that worry is like sitting in a rocking chair, it keeps you busy, but doesn’t take you anywhere.  I think that’s the type of exercise talked about here.  The devil loves to keep us busy without accomplishing anything and that’s what worry does.

The next part gives us an example of the parent/child within us all.  “Surely I have calmed and quieted my soul like a weaned child.”   That tells me I still have childish emotions that demand attention, but the parent in me must deny the child.  A child will throw a screaming fit when denied of something it wants, but it will also eventually get quiet and calm.  We must be the parent when it comes to our emotions and not let them rule us like a spoiled child.  When we do that we “cease from fretting” or worrying.

The last part says “O Israel, hope in the Lord from this time forth and forever”.  I put my name in the place of Israel because I plan on putting my hope in the Lord, will you?

Leave a Reply

