A Christian Journey

This Is Love

“In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son.”  1 John 4:10

I haven’t always walked with the Lord.  There was a time when I wanted to do my own thing, be able to do what I wanted to, when I wanted to, wherever I wanted to do it.   I thought that would bring me happiness.   (Gee I just relaized how many I’s and me’s I said!)

No matter what I did I still felt an emptiness inside, I was not happy.  Even though I was living for myself I was still not able to meet all my needs.

Now I had been raised in church and knew about God.  He was out there running the universe.  I heard the stories about Noah and the ark, Jonah and the whale, and Daniel in the lions den.  But those stories were so long ago, I never thought about God working in MY life today, I didn’t think God still did that.  Even the story about Jesus being born and all that He did seemed so far away.

What made me really realize my need in life was when I thought about death.  What comes after we die?  All I could see was darkness and I didn’t like that, even though my siblings used to lock me in a closet when I was young.  This was for eternity.

Then I heard a man on the television say “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son that whoever believes in Him will not perish but have eternal life.”   Right then I got down on my knees and asked God to forgive me for looking elsewhere for happiness and that I wanted His eternal life.  My emptiness was gone.

My prayer is that you too will seek Him for peace, joy, and happiness, and eternal life.

Leave a Reply

