A Christian Journey

The Woman

“Presently, when a woman of Samaria came along to draw water, Jesus said to her, “Give me a drink.”     John 4:7

The story of the woman at the well is one of my favorites.  I’ve read it so many times and it seems each time I get more from it.  I can relate to the story because it is about a woman.  Someone recently said that it is the longest conversation Jesus has with anyone in the bible.  

Women played a vital role in Jesus’ time on earth.  It’s interesting to me that most of the old testament is written from a man’s point of view.  Jewish custom was that the man was the head of the household and primary.  In the new testament we see that change a bit.  When Jesus comes to earth He makes a point to put all people – Jew and gentile, free and slave, men and women – on the same level.  The time He takes in this story, with a woman, certainly helps bring it down to my level.

I’d like to look at this story a little more and will continue to do so over the next few days, I hope you will join me.

Leave a Reply

